SNL_season_40_title_card

I will be posting a more in-depth analysis of the best of SNL Season 40 later in the summer, but for some now, here are some rankings.

Most Valuable Cast Members
1. Kate McKinnon
2. Cecily Strong

Best Sketches
1. Bad Boys
2. Graveyard Song
3. Anniversary Dinner
4. Grow-a-Guy
5. Woodbridge High School Theatre Showcase
6. Tad Rankin
7. Dinosaur Museum
8. Mr. Riot Films
9. Blazer
10. Bambi

Best Dress Cuts
1. Kyle 40
2. Inner White Girl
3. Bruce Chandling and Kevin Hart
4. Pentagon Presentation
5. 40 Greatest Guys

Best Hosts
1. Dwayne Johnson
2. Michael Keaton
3. Jim Carrey

Best Monologues
1. Reese Witherspoon
2. Louis C.K.
3. Chris Rock

Best Musical Guests
1. D’Angelo
2. Alabama Shakes
3. Florence + the Machine
4. Prince
5. Kendrick Lamar

Best Weekend Update Segments
1. Pete Davidson
2. Al Sharpton
3. Ruth Bader Ginsburg
4. One-Dimensional Female Character From a Male-Driven Comedy

Best Episodes
1. Dwayne Johnson/George Ezra
2. Reese Witherspoon/Florence + the Machine
3. Chris Pratt/Ariana Grande
4. Jim Carrey/Iggy Azalea
5. Michael Keaton/Carly Rae Jepsen

Best Lines
1. “Daddy needs his chocolate. He need it, need it, need it. Chocolate in the morning, chocolate in the evening, chocolate at suppertime, thank you.”
2. “Thank you, thank you, Colin Jost. Who tells the jokes? Excuse me. Colin Jost, who tells the jokes.”
3. “I called the park. They’ve been closed for two hours.”
4. “I float like a butterfly, I sting like a bee, I clean myself like a fly.”
5. “I haven’t crapped my pants all year!”
6. “If you don’t have a boner right now, you should just kill yourself.”
7. “If we want to treat women as equals, we shouldn’t put them on money. We should pay them an equal amount of money. And Michael Che shouldn’t be paid at all!”
8. “The fact that you would even ask me that makes you a spigot, and no, I’m not Jewish.”
9. “So next time you’re at Starbucks, why not order a double shot, of compassion?”
10. “Houston, we have a boner.”
11. “This is a fight.”
12. “The places in America with the worst bedbug problems are Chicago, Detroit, and yo’ mama.”
13. “If you C-section, say something.”

